Find Your Course
Liverpool Hope Logo

School of Health Sciences

Overview

Our programmes are led by distinguished professors, and we have five medical doctors, together with a team of research active academics, all of whom are publishing in research journals and books. This helps create an environment which promotes research informed teaching. It is what universities are about - where the academics create new knowledge which is then directly integrated into the teaching. This ensures that our students not only understand the fundamental theories and concepts, but also exposes them to the most recent ideas, debates and discussions in the field. It ensures that our courses are highly relevant, covering current issues and real-life problems.

Our programmes are also extremely practical and our students become familiar with a range of contemporary techniques and analysis, honing their skills in research through the dissertation and research projects. In addition, students attend field trips and educational visits, as well as being encouraged to undertake work placements and study abroad experiences. This creates highly employable, confident graduates who are at the forefront of their discipline.

The School also has established a range of postgraduate courses, including MSc programmes in Diabetes, Applied Exercise Physiology, Skill Acquisition and Human Movement as well as planned programmes in Ageing and Exercise, and Sports Nutrition. We welcome students, particularly Hope graduates, who have at 2:1 or First Class degree in a Health Science or related science subject.

Finally, this is an exciting time for Health Sciences at Hope as we are currently investing £8.5 million in a new Science and Sports building which will provide excellent research and teaching facilities both for our staff and students. 

Read more Hide
Study with Us
UndergraduatePostgraduate
BSc Biological Sciences MSc Applied Exercise Physiology
BSc Biology MSc Diabetes
BSc Human Biology MSc Exercise and Ageing
BSc Nutrition MSc Sport Nutrition
BSc Sport and Exercise Science  
BSc Sport and Physical Education  
BSc Sport Psychology  
Department Staff
Prof Mehmet Dorak

Professor Mehmet Dorak

Head of Department and Professor in Health Sciences

dorakm@hope.ac.uk

Omid Alizadehkhaiyat

Associate Professor Omid Alizadehkhaiyat

Associate Professor and Deputy Head of Health Sciences

alizado@hope.ac.uk

Peter Angell

Dr Peter Angell

Senior Lecturer in Sport and Exercise Science

angellp@hope.ac.uk

Dr Jeremy Cogley

Professional Tutor in Heath Sciences

cogleyj@hope.ac.uk

Dr Ginny Coyles

Dr Ginny Coyles

Lecturer in Sport and Exercise Biomechanics

coylesg@hope.ac.uk

Dr Becky Gobbi

Dr Becky Dagger

Senior Lecturer in Sport and Exercise Science

daggerb@hope.ac.uk

0107 Dr Kat Holloway

Dr Kat Holloway

Senior Lecturer in Health Sciences

hollowk@hope.ac.uk

Dr Stefan Koehn

Lecturer in Sport Psychology

koehns@hope.ac.uk

0126 Mr Carl Larsen

Dr Carl Larsen

Senior Lecturer - Biology

larsenc@hope.ac.uk

Dr Richard Lamb

Dr Richard Lamb

Senior Lecturer in Health Sciences

lambr@hope.ac.uk

Emma Lees

Dr Emma Lees

Lecturer in Nutrition

leese@hope.ac.uk

Placeholder image of staff

Dr James Malone

Lecturer in Coaching Science

malonej2@hope.ac.uk

0137 Dr Simon Marwood Profile

Dr Simon Marwood

Senior Lecturer in Physiology

marwoos@hope.ac.uk

0166 Prof Ebrahim Naderali

Professor Ebrahim Naderali

Professor of Obesity and Metabolic Diseases

naderae@hope.ac.uk

Liam Owens

Professional Tutor in Health Sciences

owensl2@hope.ac.uk

Placeholder image of staff

Dr James Roberts

Lecturer in Motor Control

robertj3@hope.ac.uk

0200 Dr Denise Roche

Dr Denise Roche

Senior Lecturer in Exercise Physiology

ROCHED@hope.ac.uk

0242 Dr Cathy Walsh

Dr Cathy Walsh

Principal Lecturer

walshc@hope.ac.uk

Purdue-Hope Nutrition Scholarship Prize 2017

Learn more about an exciting opportunity for Nutrition students